AAPS once again leads the way with PLTW Distinguished School recognition for 2021-22

AAPS is once again leading the way with PLTW Distinguished School recognition for 2021-2022. 

The PLTW Distinguished Program Recognition recognizes districts and schools committed to “helping students own their education by increasing student access, engagement, and achievement in their PLTW programs.”

For the first time, Ann Arbor Public Schools has 30 schools/levels receiving this honor.

“This accomplishment took a true team effort,” says AAPS Career and Technology Director Tom Pachera. “Our AAPS PLTW teachers go above and beyond every day. They seize the opportunity to engage students in an innovative STEAM curriculum that goes beyond the walls of our schools and bonds with real-world experiences.”

The AAPS was among the very first districts in the country to offer the PLTW program as a full continuum across grades K-12 as part of the district’s effort to feature more project-based, hands-on learning opportunities in the critical areas of Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Math (STEAM). The AAPS began in 2008 with PLTW at Skyline, subsequently at all AAPS High Schools and completed the full implementation of the program across all elementary and middle schools in 2016.   

AAPS represented 21 of 23 elementary schools (91%) in the state of Michigan and 21 of 282 elementary schools nationwide (7%) to earn PLTW Launch Distinguished School Recognition.

Congratulations to the PLTW Gateway Programs in all seven middle schools, including: Ann Arbor Open, A2 STEAM, and Clague, Forsythe, Scarlett, Slauson, and Tappan middle schools.

AAPS middle schools represented all 7 of 9 middle schools (78%) in the state of Michigan and seven of 134 middle schools nationwide to earn PLTW Gateway Distinguished School Recognition.

And congratulations to Community and Skyline high schools which represented two of the four high schools in the state of Michigan and two of 191 high schools nationwide to earn PLTW High School Distinguished School Recognition.

Special thanks to extraordinary AAPS PLTW teachers: Maria Bajorek, Leslie Baugh, Joe Burgireno, Bill Campbell, Charlie Centivany, Veronica Choe, Rob Cupit, Gretchen Dawson, Kevin Dorn, Alexa Florkowski, Jennifer Gleason, Matt Hall, Mike Harris, Cynthia Heraud, Ashley Hufnagel, Kim Jaster, Katie Kipp-Dohm, George Lancaster, James Luxon, Marla McKelvey, Andy Meyer, Nathan Moger, Anessa Nelson, Jennifer Pool, Phillip Sanborn, Laura Schaffer, Sarah Schemanske, Mary Sheaffer-Manthey, Allyson Sovis, Sarah VanLoo, Bill Van Loo, Dusti Vincent, Bridget Zeuty and Lisa Ziegler. 

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.