Swimming: Pioneer wins SEC Championships; Huron touches fourth

  • By Terry Jacoby/weloveannarbor.com

A pool full of the best swimming and diving teams in the state gathered at Skyline on Saturday for the SEC Championships and the results were off the board. Pioneer, a favorite to win the Division 1 State Finals, took first place overall with 597 points. Skyline, a contender to win the Division 2 State Finals, placed second with 494 points and won six out of the 11 swimming events.

Saline took third place with 423 points, Huron was fourth with 221.5 points, Dexter touched fifth with 202.5 points followed by Bedford (179), Lincoln (91) and Monroe (76).

Pioneer won the opening medley relay. The team of Jack Wilkening, Alex Farmer, Robert Yang and Gabriel Sanchez Burks took first in 1 minute, 32.27 seconds. Dexter’s team of Lucas Greatorex, Adam Hauser, Stuart Bovich and Matthew Resende placed fifth (1:40.05). The Huron team of Joe O’Neal, Daniel Huang, John Gao and Matthew Resende placed sixth (1:40.21).

Pioneer senior Ryan Hume won the 200 free in 1:38.87 with teammate Harrison Sanders touching fourth in 1:43.31. Huron’s Drew Lindstrom was fifth (1:44.89) and Pioneer’s Alex Lipham was sixth (1:45.68).

Pioneer went two-three in the 200 IM with Caleb Rice taking second (1:56.11) and Teodor Jaworski finishing third (1:56.70). Pioneer’s Christopher Leuciuc was fifth (1:58.74). Dexter’s Hauser was sixth (2:00.26).

In the 50 free, Sanchez Burks was third (21.05), Yang fourth (21.76) and Farmer fifth (21.78) for the Pioneers. Dexter sophomore Resende was eighth in 22.71.

Dexter’s Cole Warren splashed away with the diving title. The senior finished first with 494.75 points. Pioneer’s Gabriel Mercier was second (391.35). Huron’s Jackson Moxley was ninth (190.15).

Yang took second for Pioneer in the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.43. Leuciuc was fifth (53.68) and Resende took seventh (54.87) for the Dreadnaughts.

Wilkening took third in the 100 free for Pioneer in 45.88. Sanders was fifth in 46.80 and Sanchez Burks was sixth in 47.16. Huron’s Lindstrom was seventh in 48.94.

Hume won his second race of the day when he touched first in the 500 free with a time of 4:33.39. Jaworski took second (4:40.55), Lipham was fifth (4:55.60) and Jensen Wood sixth (4:55.95) for Pioneer. Hauser was seventh for Dexter in 4:57.70.

The Pioneer team of Wilkening, Sanders, Sanchez Burks and Hume took second in the 200 free relay in 1:23.97. Huron’s team of Huang, Lindstrom, Ozan Uyulur and Franek Orlowski was fourth in 1:32.14. Dexter’s foursome of Grady Wheeler, Tristan Lorincz, Jack Potsos and Eric Smaby was fifth in 1:34.09.

Wilkening won the backstroke for Pioneer with a time of 49.17. Rice was third (52.73) for the Pioneers. Huron’s Joe O’Neal was fourth (53.99) and Pioneer’s Mathieu Ruelle was eighth (55.89).

In the breaststroke, Farmer took fourth (58.84), Gabriel Almeida was sixth (1:00.86) and Young Jun eighth (1:01.84) for Pioneer.

In the 400 free relay, the Pioneer team of Yang, Sanders, Jaworski and Hume touched second in 3:04.66 to Skyline’s winning time of 3:04.36. Huron’s team of Alex Moskus, John Gao, O’Neal and Lindstrom took fifth (3:20.10). Dexter’s team of Resende, Hauser, Lorincz and Greatorex touched sixth in 3:22.79.

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.