Skyline & Pioneer students excel at virtual DECA conference

Huron business students compete in BPA instead of DECA; those results to come later

Skyline and Pioneer DECA students recently competed at the first-ever virtual DECA District-4 Conference in the areas of business & management, marketing, finance, hospitality & tourism, and entrepreneurship.

Distributive Education Clubs of America prepares students to be college and career ready upon graduation.  DECA’s 225,000 members in 5,000 high schools gain experience through interactive classroom activities and by attending DECA conferences throughout the school year.

The Career and Technical Student Organizations (CTSOs) give students the opportunity to develop leadership skills and offer them a chance to compete against other students from across the region, the state, nationally and internationally, explained Karen Eisley, the district’s Career and Technical Education chair. 

“It gives students a common ground for developing friendships with other students who have similar interests and skills,” she said.  “The Ann Arbor students excel in these competitions.  We have clubs that vary by career area such as DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America) and BPA (Business Professionals of America) for Business, Finance, and Marketing students; SkillsUSA for our Homebuilding and Culinary students; HOSA for our students interested in careers in the medical field.”

Huron students compete in  Business Professionals of America events instead of DECA, and those results will be posted later. 

Nearly 50 Skyline students qualified to represent their chapter at the DECA State Career Development Conference in March, which will also be a virtual format.
“We are proud to congratulate the following students for winning at districts,” says Skyline Business Education teacher Robert Shannon.

Those Skyline students are: Vimal Alokam; Ajan Arora; Advaith Balaji; Katarina Bauer; Celia Begosso; Nikash Bhagat; Eva Campbell; Jacob Carlson; Anusheh Chaudrey; Peter Christoff; Andrew Cooke; Coco Courtright; Lauren Courtright; Jessica Courtright; Phillip Crumm; Edan Dietz; Minh-Anh Do; Nishant Domala; Marco Geglio; Gracie Greenberg; Nikhil Gunaratnam; Jordan Hall; Jack Haymart; Lillian Hescheles; Payton Horning; Elan Kluger; Aadith Kumar; Vivian Li; Henry Lukela; Matthew McMorrough; Erin McNulty; Qasim Motan; Grant Murphy; Sarangi Nair; Onat Ozer; Zack Pachera; Ganesh Palaniappan; Anisha Ramachandra; Varsha Reddy; Yann Reichbart; Violet Schrag; Lilly Shannon; Rohan Sharma; Charlotte Steglitz; Cole Streeter; Vinamra Swaroop; Noah Thompson; Margaret Vandermark; Meredith Vohland; Chelsea Wilkerson; Cameron Wiseman; and Michael Zhou.

Pioneer High School winners include:

Apparel & Accessories Marketing  

Ishara Kelsaw‐Fletcher

Leah Morgenstern

Charlotte Winegarden

Automotive Services Marketing 

Matias Gonzalez

Business Finance

Shankrith Chandru

Isaac Herrenkohl

Armand Gago

Business Law and Ethics 

Rebecca Brewer & Elizabeth Casey

Business Services Marketing

Malak Samaha

Gabe Labadie

Alex Farmer

Arjun Patel


Zach Pryor

Eva Petroff

Matthew Ruud

Oliver Schramm

Entrepreneurship Team 

Jennifer Jang & Sarika Pai 

Financial Services Team 

Aditya Bapat & Kyle Cheng

Anika Nayegandhi & Jessica Sheehan

Food Marketing 

Nicholas Bruzzano

Tiffany Li

Hospitality Services Team 

Francesca Chetcuti & Sandy Hall

Cameron Williston & Robert Yang

Hotel and Lodging Management 

Sarah McCreadie

Logan Brown

Joleena Siebler

Human Resources Management  

Mia Steinhauer

Aditya Abbaraju

Yanson Wang

Rishika Bhutani

Marketing Communications 

Elizabeth Webb

Kaitlin McCreadie

Katie German

Marketing Management Team 

Mary Corey & Rhea Galbraith 

Principles of Business Management 

Matthew Jia

Principles of Finance 

Denis Bronskii

Principles of Hospitality and Tourism

Amanda Epperson 

Principles of Marketing

Paris Carter 

Wil Pinkerton

Quick Service Restaurant Management

Mae Veidlinger

Restaurant and Food Service Management

Anna Kaganov

Jade Laatsch

Anh Vu

Retail Merchandising 

Mariah Mauldin

Sports & Entertainment Team 

Colten Heatley & Michael Suter

Anthony Gibbons & John Lang

Sports & Entertainment Marketing 

Garrett Kracht

Jakob Lorenc

Jack Ceccacci

Test Medals

Mary Corey, Francesca Chetcuti, Cameron Williston, Robert Yang, Aditya Bapat, Kyle Cheng, Anika Nayegandhi, Jessica Sheehan, Sarika Pai, Rebecca Brewer, Elizabeth Casey, Garrett Kracht, Jakob Lorenc, Mariah Mauldin, Anna Kaganov, Jade Laatsch, Amanda Epperson, Matthew Jia, Elizabeth Webb, Kaitlin McCreadie, Katie German, Yanson Wang, Rishika Bhutani, Sarah McCreadie, Logan Brown, Joleena Siebler, Nicholas Bruzzano, Tiffany Li, Zach Pryor, Eva Petroff, Malak Samaha, Gabe Labadie, Alex Farmer, Isaac Herrenkohl, Ishara Kelsaw‐Fletcher, Charlotte Winegarden

Role Play Medals

Anthony Gibbons, John Lang, Mary Corey, Rhea Galbraith, Francesca Chetcuti, Sandy Hall, Cameron Williston, Robert Yang, Aditya Bapat, Kyle Cheng, Anika Nayegandhi, Jessica Sheehan, Jennifer Jang,  Sarika Pai, Rebecca Brewer, Elizabeth Casey, Garrett Kracht, Jakob Lorenc, Anna Kaganov, Jade Laatsch, Anh Vu, Paris Carter, Wil Pinkerton, Hillary Poudeu Tchokothe, Matthew Jia, Elizabeth Webb, Katie German, Mia Steinhauer, Aditya Abbaraju, Sarah McCreadie, Logan Brown, Nicholas Bruzzano, Tiffany Li, Zach Pryor, Eva Petroff, Matthew Ruud, Oliver Schramm, Malak Samaha, Alex Farmer, Shankrith Chandru, Armand Gago, Ishara Kelsaw‐Fletcher, Leah Morgenstern, Charlotte Winegarden

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.