Pioneer Musicians Selected for All-State Band

The Pioneer High School community has yet another reason to be proud today.

Of more than 2,400 auditions held in Michigan this fall,  several PHS students have been selected to participate in the Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association All-State Ensembles.

They will perform for hundreds of music educators on January 24 at the Michigan Music Conference in Grand Rapids.

Those selected for All-State Band are: Megan Jung (flute), Ellen Sauer (flute), Anurima Kumar (clarinet), Jinyoung Kim (clarinet), Griffin Roy (clarinet), Daniel Yoo (bass clarinet), Jonathan Lynn (alto saxophone), Joseph Buiteweg (tenor saxophone), Seetha Davis (horn), Anna Inohara (tuba, 1st Chair), Aubrey Wright (tuba).

Honorable Mention for All-State Band: Nick Simon (alto saxophone).

Selected for All-State Orchestra: Kallan Roan (violin), Kirsten Riggs (viola), Alexis Berry (viola), Annie Li (clarinet, 1st Chair), Melissa Palfey (horn, 1st Chair)

Selected for the High School Jazz Ensemble: Jonathan Lynn (alto saxophone, 1stChair).

Congratulations also extend to Director of Bands David A. Leach; Director of Orchestras Jonathan Glawe, and Associate Director of Bands and Symphony Orchestra Nancy Waring.

David Leach is pictured last month working with the  Varsity Band Brass and Percussion.
David Leach is pictured last month working with the Varsity Band Brass and Percussion.


The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.