Pioneer High Symphony Band Selected as National Winner-Mark of Excellence

Pioneer Symphony Orchestra


The Foundation for Music Education’s “Mark of Excellence/National Wind Band Honors project has announced that the 2013-14 Pioneer Symphony Band received “National Winner” status in the “New Music” category and “Commended Winner” Status (in the AAAA Classification). There were 224 entries from 35 states. Pioneer was the only band in Michigan to receive this award.

Additionally, the following Pioneer musicians were recognized as Outstanding Soloists amongst all categories!

For their solos in Candide:

Jonathan Lynn, Alto Saxophone

Ellen Sauer, Piccolo

Anna Hayman, Oboe

And for their solos in Redline Tango:

Griffin Roy, Eb clarinet

Kevin Tian, Soprano Sax

Ian McKenny, Trumpet

Michael Shapiro, Bb Clarinet

Congratulations to Director of Bands David Leach, Associate Director Nancy Waring, and the Pioneer Band program!

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use ┬áprofane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.