Inductees to Pioneer’s new Hall of Honor inspire students to see how far they can reach

By Jo Mathis/AAPS District News editor

Sixty-three of Pioneer High School’s most distinguished alum Friday were inducted into PHS’s newly created Hall of Honor.

The six-hour event at the school also included a breakfast meet and greet; breakout sessions with students; tours of the school; and a luncheon.

Pioneer Hall of Honor induction is awarded to outstanding and notable past students who have achieved excellence and pioneered new paths in their respective fields, ranging from athletics (John Harbaugh) to music (Iggy Pop) to filmmaking (Ken Burns) to science and engineering (Jack Lousma).


Each honoree has a plaque displaying his or her image and a few short lines about their accomplishments displayed on the outside wall of Schreiber Auditorium.

These honorees (15 of whom are deceased) span almost 150 years of Pioneer graduates, and have been chosen through a rigorous vetting process following a strict set of guidelines and requiring 75 percent approval by a committee of staff, students, and other alumni, including Ms. Lorin Cartwright, staff director of this project.

They represent PHS alums, faculty or staff who have distinguished themselves since leaving high school.

The honorees were selected by the Student Council Alumni Connections Committee headed by Pioneer’s former athletic director Lorin Cartwright. Selection was done over the course of the past several years. Cartwright, who said she wanted to inspire current students to imagine the possibilities for their own futures.

The first Hall of Honor inductees are: Ron Asheton, Aaron Bailey, James Baird, Eric Betzig, Keith Bostic, Barry Brown, Ken Burns, Ric Burns, Edwin G Burrows, John Chase, Max Crook, Ali Curtis, Ernie Delco Jr, Don Dufek Jr, Ken Dyer, Bob Elliott, Bill Flemming, Colonel Mark Gilson, Owen Gleiberman, Alison Gregorka, Zach Grenier, Dave Hampton, Franz Harary, John Harbaugh, Keith Hefner, Major General William Henderson, Earle Higgins, Bob Hollway, Howdy Holmes, Deon Jackson, George Jewett, Bruce Kimball, Bill Kirchen, Peter Kornbluh, Francie Kraker-Goodridge, Larry Lage, Jack Lousma, Kara Lynn Joyce, John Morrow, Randy Napoleon, Beth Nissen, Zack Pearlman, John Pointer, Iggy Pop, Mark Potter, Zach Putnam, Brian Rolston, Sara Ryan, Bob Seger, Marty Sinn Catalano, Jean Smith, Ted Speers, Neil Oliver Staebler, Masakazu Toyama, Tim Wadhams, Virgie Warren, Thomas Huckle Weller, Robert Westfall, David Westin, Corey Woolfolk, Robin Wright, Soon-Young Yoon and Eric Zorn.



The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.


  1. I think Tom Jensen, chief executive for Public Policy Poling, should be included. His findings are in the national news almost daily. He does an amazing job and Pioneer should be very proud of him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.