Forsythe KMO Club first in state, top 3 percent in USA in Knowledge Contest

KMO Team

The Forsythe KMO Club finished first in the state, out of eight teams, in the Knowledge  Master Open held Dec. 4, 2012.  The Viking Auks were defending the state championship they won last April. The  Knowledge Master Open is a contest that tests teams’ ability to answer  questions in all the subject areas quickly and accurately.  The  questions are at all levels of difficulty. The KMO is produced by Academic Hallmarks, of Durango, CO, and you can learn more about it at

The Viking team of 47 sixth, seventh, and eighth graders scored 1582 out of a perfect score of 2000.  They finished far above the state average of 1364 and the national average of 1219.  Second place in Michigan went to Boulan Park Middle School, Troy, with a score of 1550.  A team from Tappan also competed.

Nationally, Forsythe placed 13th out of 508 teams.  First place in the country was Barrington Middle School, Barrington, IL, with 1703, and second place was Duluth Middle School, Duluth, GA, with 1702.

The competition consisted of 200 multiple-choice questions, each with five answer choices.  Forsythe answered 181 correctly on the first try and got 12 of the remaining 19 right on the second try, leaving only seven questions answered incorrectly.

KMO is a middle school club open to all Forsythe students.  The coach is Dan Ezekiel, assisted by Mike Shaw, and with parent assistance coordinated by Team Mom Marni Arnett.  There will be more competitions, in January and March for sixth graders only and for all grades in April.  The members of the gold-winning December team were:

6th Grade:  Max Bayer, Will Chamberlain, Ella Kocher, David Thierbach, and Kaede Tsuji

7th Grade:  Oscar Anderson, David Arnett, Akhil Arora, Bryan Castillo, Chandra Desai, Dane Dorius, AJ Eisman, Bruno Herbst, James Johal-Smith, Liam Keating, Jane Keeling, Daniel Khain, Nathan Pawittranon, Praveen Samy, Rose Sproat, Jack Suber, Jordan Tirico, Julia Walker.  (Natan Zekic is also on the team, but he was in Europe).

8th Grade:  Fumiya Abe-Nornes, Miles Aikens, Navya Arigapudi, Halley Banaszak-Holl, Oshadi Caldera, Samir Chethan, Tommy Cohn, Matt Cole, Noah Dean, Connor Edwards, Forrest Flesher, Khegan Harvey, Alex Hull, Chase Hyatt, Sabir Islam, Anna Kaehr, Shreeman Nimmagadda, Daniela Page Sander, Micah Pollans-Dempsey, Samiksha Prakash, Jacob Schneyer, Charlie Siers, Dylan Skvarek, Kevin Xu.

–Submitted by Dan Ezekiel

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Jeopardy! champion visits Forsythe KMO Club |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.