Community High School newspaper wins four national awards

Students who work on The Communicator visited Minneapolis for a national convention last year. Photo submitted by Tracy Anderson.

The National Scholastic Press Association announced Sept. 6 that The Communicator, Community High School’s student-run newspaper, is a recipient of four national awards.

The Communicator is led by an incredible group of editors: Mari Cohen, Kerry Fingerle, Julia Kortberg, Jordan Siden, Brienne O’Donnell, Cooper DePriest, Abby Kleinheksel, Eliza Stein, Colleen O’Brien, and Kelly Arnold. The adviser for the newsmagazine and online edition is Tracy Anderson (Rosewarne).

Melanie Langa, Danny Langa, Annabel Weiner and Vittoria Meloni received one of five Honorable Mentions in the Multimedia News Story of the Year category.

Colleen O’Brien is one of four finalists in the Design of the Year category.

Kate Summers is one of five finalists for Multimedia News Story of the Year

The Communicator is one of nine newsmagazine finalists for the Pacemaker, which is the top national award given by the National Scholastic Press Association.

Congratulations to all of the journalism students at Community High!

–Submitted by Tracy Anderson

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.