After winning second place at states, the Clague Scioly team is en route to nationals

The Clague Cougars Scioly Team placed second at the Michigan State Science Olympiad Tournament, earning a place among the top 120 Science Olympiad teams in the country. They will compete at the 39th Annual Science Olympiad National Tournament at Wichita State University on May 19-20.

Clague had a 17-member team, with 15 members competing in 23 events, and alternates participating in a trial event called Solar Power under the supervision of their coach Xiogan Liang.

The Clague Middle School Scioly State Team roster consists of Sounak Debnath; Angad Pal; Rajonya Dey; Anika Raman; Kanishka Gupta; Aarav Tirumali; Thisali Bandaranayake; Lakshya Jaiganesh; Victor Tarca; Michelle Zhang; Srishti Jadhav; Jhanvi Giddu; Paavani Tewari; Sahan Ihalaranaweera; Claire Svoboda; Jerry Zuo (alternate); Edwin Liang (alternate).

The team’s overall rank and medal tally are listed below.

Clague Middle School scioly Michigan state competition overall rank: 2nd 

EventRankTeamCoaching Team
Solar System1stSounak Debnath, Jhanvi GidduSamiran Muli, Vanya Krishna
Sounds of music1stVictor Tarca, Angad PalAdi Tarca, Diana Lungu
Crave the wave2ndSounak Debnath, Michelle ZhangAkshar Cowlagi, Bikash Debnath
Can’t judge a powder2ndThisali Bandaranayake, Rajonya DeyAnita Gaenko, Kashvi Rai, Zhu Li, Ajitha Devarajan
Meteorology2ndPaavani Tewari, Kanishka GuptaKapil Gupta, Savitha Bandaranayake
Rocks and Minerals2ndRajonya Dey, Jhanvi GidduPoulami Dey
Solar Power(Trial)2ndEdwin Liang, Jerry ZuoXiaogan Liang, Zhu Li, Yani Qian
Bio Process Lab3rdSounak Debnath, Victor TarcaSoma Samanta
Code Busters3rdPaavai Tewari, Rajonya Dey, Lakshya JaiganeshAmbuj Tewari, Anirudh Venkat
Crime Busters3rdSahan Ihalaranaweera, Thisali BandaranayakeStella Wisidagama, Kashvi Rai
Flight3rdAarav Tirumali, Sounak DebnathXiaogan Liang
Bridge4thClaire Svoboda, Jhanvi GidduHemath Tavane, Banu Tavane
Forestry4thRajonya Dey, Jhanvi GidduMarguerite Dillard, Kavitha Prasad, Chithra Subramani
Green generation4thThisali Bandaranayake, Anika RamanShikha Marwah
Anatomy & Physiology5thLakshya Jaiganesh, Srishti JadhavDhruva Gopalakrishnan, Aditi Gopalakrishnan
Experimental Design5thPaavani Tewari, Kanishka Gupta, Angad PalNarayani Anand
Storm the castle6thVictor Tarca, Kanishka GuptaHaoyu Gu, Adi Tarca
Disease detectives6thAarav Tirumali, Michelle ZhangSmitha Mohan, Lu Wang
Roller Coaster9thSahan Ihalaranaweera, Lakshya JaiganeshPrasad Ihalaranaweera, Jai Velan
Wheeled Vehicle10thClaire Svoboda, Sahan IhalaranaweeraRob Svoboda
Road Scholar12thAnika Raman, Kanishka GuptaVarshini Kashyap
Fast Facts13thPaavani Tewari, Anika RamanAditi Gopalakrishnan, Ragini Vittal
Dynamic Planet14thAarav Tirumali, Sahan IhalaranaweeraSmitha Mohan, Anita Gaenko, Akshar Cowlagi
Write It Do It26thAarav Tirumali, Srishti JadhavJashn Grewal, Puja Grewal, Smitha Mohan, Rishi Tirumali

“As evident from the list of coaching volunteers this tremendous achievement has been fuelled by the active participation of our team of parent volunteers,” said Head Coach Kapil Gupta. “The hard work of our students is the key recipe and our dedicated team of parents and high school volunteers is the secret sauce that truly brings out the flavor of success. The team’s achievements this season serve to demonstrate the old adage ‘It takes a village…’ It truly does, and we stand to show how much we can achieve as a team.”

Gupta also wants to thank volunteers Tanay Panja (Sounds of Music), Kashvi Rai (Storm the Castle), and Peng Zhang (Crave the Wave).

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.