AAPS Board of Education swears in new trustees, re-elects officers

The Ann Arbor Public Schools Board of Education re-elected Bryan Johnson to serve as their president at their Organizational Meeting on January 13, 2021. The other leadership positions remained constant as well. Jessica Kelly was re-elected as vice-president, Susan Baskett will continue to serve as board secretary and Rebecca Lazarus was again elected treasurer.

The election of board officers occurred after Krystle DuPree and Ernesto Querijero were sworn in as new trustees, along with returning board member Jeff Gaynor.

President Bryan Johnson said, “I am very excited about this board and really enjoyed serving even in the last boards as well. Looking forward to a very successful year.”

In addition to choosing board officers, committee assignments were made. Trustees Kelly, Gaynor and Querijero will serve on the Planning Committee. The Performance Committee will be Lazarus and Baskett, while President Johnson, Baskett, and Querijero comprise the Governance Committee.

The AAPS District News welcomes thoughtful comments, questions and feedback.

All comments will be screened and moderated.

In order for your comment to be approved:

  • You must use your full name
  • You must not use  profane or offensive language
  • Your comment must be on topic and relevant to the story

Please note: any comment that appears to be spam or attacks an individual will not be approved.