AAPS Updates

August 2013

Welcome to the new AAPS News!

August 30, 2013 // 2 Comments

It’s a new school year, and the district has a brand-new AAPS News set up just for you!

Welcome back!

August 30, 2013 // 1 Comment

Welcome to the 2013-2014 school year and to Ann Arbor’s exceptional schools. On September 3rd, 2013, more than 16,500 students will arrive through our AAPS school doors and we are delighted to welcome each and every one to this new school year. Our staff has …

Sinking Fund Vote and the Media Climate

August 30, 2013 // 4 Comments

Hello and Welcome Back! I hope all your summers were fantastic and you and your students are returning to school excited and energized. A lot has happened this summer to get the district ready for the rewards and challenges of Fall 2013, and I am …

The award-winning documentary American Promise, which debuted at the Sundance Film Festival this year, won’t be released to the public until it debuts on PBS later this year. But Ann Arbor Public Schools teachers had the opportunity to see it at the district’s annual Opening Day celebration on Aug. 27.

Meet your new principals

August 26, 2013 // 7 Comments

This year, Bach, Burns Park and Pattengill elementary schools, along with Clague Middle and Skyline High School, are welcoming new principals. Learn about them here!

AAPS staff getting ready for new school year

August 15, 2013 // 0 Comments

Teachers attend one of dozens of professional development sessions offered this month through the Professional Learning Academy. The new school year is fast approaching, and while you’re soaking up the last few days of summer, our teachers and administrators are already preparing for the new …

AAPS Board of Ed rescinds 7th hour fee

August 14, 2013 // 0 Comments

The AAPS Board of Education voted at the Aug. 14 meeting to rescind the $100 fee for the 7th-hour class offered at Huron, Pioneer and Community High Schools.

The AAPS News is thrilled to announce that the district and AAPS News Editor Tara Cavanaugh have received four awards from the Michigan School Public Relations Association’s annual Communications Contest.